Aisha Ibrahim, Emerges New NAWOJ National Chairperson


Aisha Ibrahim Kwaya-Bura, a senior staff of the Borno State Ministry of Information, has emerged new national chairperson of the Nigerian Association of Women Journalists (NAWOJ).

Comrade Aisha Ibrahim, who clinched the coveted seat after two consecutive attempts, is a graduate of Mass Communications from the University of Maiduguri (UNIMAID).

The 11th Triennial Delegates conference of the Nigeria Association of Women Journalists, NAWOJ, has ended in Abuja with the election of new Executives to superintend over its affairs for the next three years.

After a keenly contested election, Aisha Bura clinched the position of the National President defeating the incumbent, Ladi Bala.

The Chairman, NAWOJ 2023 electoral Committee,Mike Ikeogwu while declaring her winner on Sunday, November 26, 2023 said that NAWOJians had spoken through the ballot.

Other candidates who emerged successfully are Lilian Ogabu Okonkwo,- Deputy National President, Waslia Ladan- National Secretary and Aisha Cole -Assistant Secretary.

Fatima Rasheed emerged National Treasurer, Jemila Chinwe Abubakar- National Auditor, Ifeoma Aka – Financial Secretary, Adeola Adekunle- Vice President Zone B,  Amaka Agbo -Vice President,Zone C, Chizoba Ogbeche- Vice President , Zone D,  and Stella Macauley- Vice President Zone F.

In her acceptance speech, Aisha Bura who henceforth asked to be addressed as National Chairperson pledged to protect the interest of the women journalists while carrying out reforms that will take NAWOJ to the next level.

The Electoral Process was monitored by some members of the National Executive of Nigeria Union of Journalists (NUJ) including the National President Chris Isiguzo and other observer groups.

The National President of the Nigeria Union of Journalists, NUJ. Mr Chris Isiguzo charged the new leadership to embrace a new chapter characterised by collective strength to sustain and develop NAWOJ to meet the expectations for its establishment.

The 11th Triennial conference was attended by NAWOJ delegates from the 36 states in Nigeria including the Federal Capital Territory, Abuja.

The Nigeria Association of Women Journalists, the umbrella body of women Journalists in Nigeria was formed in 1989 to address the issues of gender inclusion and the professional development of women Journalists.